Replacing bike rectifier with automotive unit ?

Need a spark. All those tedious electrics, lights, tacho, wiring harness, etc

Replacing bike rectifier with automotive unit ?

Postby petteriu » Wed May 20, 2009 4:57 pm

Since i don't have model specific rectifier for my engine (CBR900/SC44) i started thinking of possibility to use more easily available unit from car instead.
Would this swap be possible or are bike and car alternators so much different that it would never work ?

Petteri
Honda CBR900RR (MegaSquirted) Barracuda
Progress
Build log
User avatar
petteriu
Raven
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:11 am
Location: Finland

Postby Glenn » Wed May 20, 2009 5:03 pm

Heaps of regulator/rectifiers on Ebay if this is what your after
cheap to, all ya need to know is what year engine it is

wouldn't substitute with anything else other than type required


cheers
Glenn
Glenn
Registered Member
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 10:12 pm
Location: Adelaide, SA

Re: Replacing bike rectifier with automotive unit ?

Postby Camel » Wed May 20, 2009 6:00 pm

petteriu wrote:Would this swap be possible or are bike and car alternators so much different that it would never work ?


Yes, anything is possible.

and

Yes, bike and car alternators and regulator rectifiers are so much different, but yet, in principle the same.

It would be a challenging exercise that I would not do. Like Glenn says, get one off ebay. It will save you a lot of trouble.
---
Gen II Hayabusa - ECU HACKED - 300kmh+ No 2nd and 3rd gear restrictions, Modified maps, Wideband datalogger
http://www.wasuperlites.com
User avatar
Camel
Piranha
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: Roleystone, Perth, Australia

Postby petteriu » Wed May 20, 2009 6:16 pm

Made a few phone calls and located second hand 12V rectifier for Honda. This is the older (=larger) model used in 80's and again after -03 and should be bullet proof compared to smaller one used in late 90's.

Petteri
Honda CBR900RR (MegaSquirted) Barracuda
Progress
Build log
User avatar
petteriu
Raven
 
Posts: 65
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2006 12:11 am
Location: Finland

Postby Camel » Wed May 20, 2009 8:54 pm

MAKE SURE IT IS THE SAME ONE!

You can't just swap them around between models. Make absolutely sure that it has the same resistance readings between the wires as the one your bike came with.

Camel
---
Gen II Hayabusa - ECU HACKED - 300kmh+ No 2nd and 3rd gear restrictions, Modified maps, Wideband datalogger
http://www.wasuperlites.com
User avatar
Camel
Piranha
 
Posts: 2147
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 2:39 pm
Location: Roleystone, Perth, Australia


Return to Electrics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest