need for instrument panel

Need a spark. All those tedious electrics, lights, tacho, wiring harness, etc

need for instrument panel

Postby aceface » Sun Jul 21, 2013 10:39 pm

I am nearing the wiring stage on my sidie. To make things easier should i use the instrument panel off the ktm that my motor came from?
Keep the faith
aceface
Trax II
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 7:39 am
Location: St Austell Cornwall UK

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby itchyback » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:21 pm

yes, couldnt get any easier than that i'd say.
Two Seat Barracuda 2.0
Completed.... except for upgrades, repairs, modifications....
User avatar
itchyback
Trax II
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2010 10:13 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby aceface » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:23 pm

Sorry, what Im trying to say is do I need to have the panel or can I by pass it as I havent got one yet
Keep the faith
aceface
Trax II
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 7:39 am
Location: St Austell Cornwall UK

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby brendon18 » Mon Jul 22, 2013 8:35 pm

Should have no problem bypassing it .if you want a speedometer and rpm gauge get a ace-well go kart speedo i had one and they are great
brendon18
Raven
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 3:33 pm
Location: Toronto NSW Australia

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby aceface » Tue Jul 23, 2013 12:13 am

Thanx m8
Keep the faith
aceface
Trax II
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 7:39 am
Location: St Austell Cornwall UK

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby 19wilson67 » Tue Jul 23, 2013 8:45 pm

brendon's quite right ie even seen someone with a honda type are tacho, cant remember who.

Its simple to wire up most things in a motor vehicle if you have a whole lot of patience, its always good to get a diagram for the engine then simplify what basics you need to run it with a rev counter then add from there, look for modular ktm tachos, oil pressure etc that you like and that again will simplify the stress. Also i actually went through the diagram and covered everything i did not need with masking tape that way the page was so much easier on the brain. At least that's how i have done things lol

Believe it or not i enjoy wiring things from scratch. Almost therapeutic am weird though
"If in doubt... Flat out" The late great Colin Mcrae
19wilson67
Raven
 
Posts: 83
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:08 pm
Location: Scotland (Central)

Re: need for instrument panel

Postby aceface » Tue Jul 23, 2013 10:48 pm

Thanx Wilson i have the wiring diagram its like a knitting pattern. I will choose a time when there's nothing else on, if there is such a time. With the wires i don't want like kick start down etc can i just tape them off and just use the essentials or do i need to complete the circuit
Keep the faith
aceface
Trax II
 
Posts: 277
Joined: Sat May 25, 2013 7:39 am
Location: St Austell Cornwall UK


Return to Electrics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest