Fun Kart 3 - Motor Options

Buggy Specific

Fun Kart 3 - Motor Options

Postby cookymanau » Tue Apr 06, 2010 1:44 pm

I have built a fun kart 3 with a B&S 5HP motor with a Comet CVT transmission. I finished it about a year ago and it works OK but the kart has no get up and go. It doesnt have a lot of excitement. I would like to upgrade the powerplant to something that will spin up the rear wheels and make power slides, donuts etc possible, at least at slower speeds.

My question revolves around options. I Think just upping the HP with a B&S motor would be relatively easy but will it give me what I want? Advice needed

I can purchase a new motor (thinking of a 11HP B&S), but will the Comet CVT handle the power and will I be able to power slide / donut - what ever? or will it still be a smooth take off? Will I be able to covert the Comet CVT to a 1" bore for the motor?

I keep thinking I need a clutch and gearbox, but I have no experience with a CVT with other power plants, only with what I have built. So advice please!

My other option is to purchase a single cylinder 250cc motorcycle engine and arrange a gear change etc. This is a lot more work I am thinking, but would I be better off going this way? Is a 250cc motor to much? Watched a few YouTube videos with 250cc motors - they look pretty wild!

All advice solicited and welcomed

Cheers
cookymanau
Registered Member

Re: Fun Kart 3 - Motor Options

Postby cookymanau » Thu Apr 08, 2010 5:00 pm

Hi - lots of viewers of my original post but no comments.

I have done some more research of my own and I conclude that for adequate mumbo I should fit a 250cc single cylinder bike motor. I have an option on a 250cc Yamaha 4 stroke single that seems to be in good working order. Any comments? Are these units strong enough in the gearbox department? Any build issues?

Cheers
cookymanau
Registered Member

Postby 20hec » Fri Apr 09, 2010 10:18 pm

Hi cookymanau